William Diggle as Thomas Jefferson, Erin Kruse as Martha Jefferson, Brooks Ashmanskas as John Adams and Christopher Bloch as Benjamin Franklin. Carol Rosegg
Performance Dates
With quick-witted dialogue and a playful score, 1776 dramatizes the impassioned debates of Philadelphia’s Second Continental Congress. As George Washington sends updates from the military front, patriots John Adams, Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Jefferson attempt to persuade the 13 colonies to separate from British rule. Motivated by a series of abuses from King George, America’s first politicians forge a new democracy by composing the Declaration of Independence. Inspired by the letters and memoirs of America’s founding fathers, this classic, Tony Award-winning musical showcases the principles, pride and determination that influenced the birth of our nation.

Production Information

Approximate Running Time
180 minutes


Benjamin Franklin
John Dickinson
Thomas Jefferson
Stephen Hopkins
Joseph Hewes
Dr. Josiah Bartlett
Samuel Chase
Dr. Lyman Hall
Andrew McNair
Abigail Adams
John Hancock
Martha Jefferson
Robert Livingston
Caesar Rodney
Roger Sherman
Colonel Thomas McKean
Richard Henry Lee
Reverend John Whitherspoon
Leather Apron
George Read
James Wilson
Charles Thompson
Edward Rutledge

Creative Team

Set Designer
Costume Designer
Choreographer for musicals
Musical Director
Sound Designer
Book Writer
Lighting Designer