

About The Victor Shargai Leadership Award

The Victor Shargai Leadership Award was established in 2021 by Craig Pascal to honor his late husband, beloved DC-area theatre champion Victor Shargai. For more than fifty years, Victor was an avid supporter of the Washington, DC region's theatre community and its artists. A former member of the Theatre Washington Board of Directors, Victor played a key role in the production of the annual Helen Hayes Awards.

Nomination Criteria

Individuals, groups of people, and institutions are eligible recipients of the annual Victor Shargai Leadership Award (VSLA). Nominees may include artists, staff, trustees, philanthropists, and others who have found creative and meaningful ways to serve, grow and strengthen the Washington, D.C. region's theatre community.

The award will recognize outstanding and creative leadership, and will be given to an individual, group, or institution that has strengthened the DC region's theatre community through initiative, collaboration, advocacy, and/or personal generosity—in a specific moment, or over an extended period of time. Their impact can be at an organizational, industry, or regional level.

To Nominate a Candidate

Candidates for The Victor Shargai Leadership Award may be nominated by individuals or organizations active in the DC regional theatre community. Individuals or organizations may also nominate themselves. One person or organization may not nominate more than one candidate in a single year.

Nominations will include a description of the candidate's qualifications not to exceed 1,000 words.

Selection Process

The recipient and any other notable nominees will be selected by a committee that will include Craig Pascal; Jane Lang (Chair, the Eugene Lang Foundation); and Abel Lopez (Theatre Washington Board Chair Emeritus). The Theatre Washington Board Chair Emeritus will consult with members of the Advancement Committee of Theatre Washington about the qualifications of the nominees. The members of the Advancement Committee are leaders from multiple industries (housing, hospitality, LGBTQ, tourism, retail, finance, etc.) who share a passion for theatre and a desire to advocate for theatre. The recipient must agree to attend the award celebration as part of the acceptance process.