Michael Chamberlin

Michael Chamberlin Headshot

Michael Chamberlin has directed at Studio Theatre, 1st Stage, Spooky Action and NextStop Theater as well as at Millbrook Playhouse, Fordham University at Lincoln Center and Imagination Stage’s Conservatory. He received a Helen Hayes Nomination as Outstanding Director for Porcelain at Tsunami Theatre Company. As an assistant director he has worked with Dana Ivey, George Grizzard, Jefferson Mays, Carrie Preston, Mary Stuart Masterson, Bobby Steggert, Boyd Gaines, Kate Burton, Rebecca Luker, John McMartin, Andrea Martin and Floyd King. As Director: My Barking Dog, Pullman, WA (Edge of the Universe); Middletown (NextStop Theatre Company); Harvey (Helen Hayes Awards Recommended); Old Wicked Songs (4 Helen Hayes Award nominations including Outstanding Production, Helen Production); Italian American Reconciliation (Helen Hayes Awards Recommended); Almost, Maine (1st Stage); Optimism! or Voltaire’s Candide (2 Helen Hayes Award nominations, Spooky Action Theater); Happy-ish (Fordham University at Lincoln Center); Fully Committed (Millbrook Playhouse); Washing Machine (Drama Desk and Hewes American Theater Wing nominations for Outstanding Lighting Design, N.Y. Innovative Theater Award nomination for Outstanding Solo Performance, The Chocolate Factory and Manbites Dog Theater); Porcelain (Helen Hayes Award Nomination, Outstanding Director; Tsunami Theatre Company); Bat Boy: The Musical (3 Helen Hayes nominations); A Clockwork Orange, Love’s Fire, Kit Marlowe (Studio Theatre 2ndStage); Class Action (Imagination Stage Conservatory); The Glory of Living (Didactic Theatre Company). As Assistant Director: The Grand Manner (Lincoln Center Theater); Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, Carnival!, Mister Roberts (The Kennedy Center); Of Mice and Men (Westport Country Playhouse); Indian Blood (Primary Stages); Fences (Round House Theatre); The Matchmaker (Ford’s Theatre); Privates on Parade (Studio Theatre). Member, SDC, Lincoln Center Theater Directors Lab, Directors Lab West.

Past Productions
The production history database begins with Helen Hayes Awards-eligible productions since 2011.